Utopia of Rest

I sit by the pool, reading a book, as the sun dips just beyond the horizon. I figure I have an hour tops before I need to search for light to finish the pages.

There’s silence here, even in the hum of the freeway near by and wind blowing through the trees, I still hear silence. I’m engrossed in a moment where I think about nothing except the story my little book offers, a distant place to escape, to get lost. No decisions to be made, no one pulling information from me, and none to give. Just me and the words.

Leave a Reply

