Off the Grid and on Mission

IMG_5667
Ten months ago, I was a part of a large community and always quite active, involved in the 8-5 rat race, met with friends almost daily, and engaged in volleyball, hiking, and walking. Today, I find myself tucked into small town life. Where going to the local ice cream store, eating at a local hangout, or walking by the water are the things to do. Life is less about a race and more about finding balance mentally, emotionally, spiritually, and physically.

When I relocated back to the mitten state, I toggled between basking in the lazy days, where everyday felt like vacation and struggled with the lack of social activity that I had become accustom to.

Then, as the Michigan weather began to change, so did I.

I found myself lost. Lost in making small connections, lost in discovering my love for photography and deeper involved in writing, lost in figuring out why God called me to the mitten once again, lost in the struggles of being on mission, lost in the Truth, and lost in my time with Jesus.

I got lost and found contentment more often.

As I write from the shade on the deck, I cannot believe that this, this is what God has called me to; writing, discovering, and taking care of others. I sit here, reminiscing where I’ve been, reminding myself where I am, and trying hard not to anticipate what’s ahead. For truly, I do not know.

Being on mission with Christ is like being on an obstacle course.

Though I am blind to what’s ahead, God knows my path. He knows how, when, and where I will move, guiding me all the way Home.

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.” Proverbs 3:5-6

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Lesa Rose says:

    If you could describe what’s it is like not knowing but trusting the Lord on this mission? Or your journey? Psalms 3:5-6 is one of my favourite scriptures but I don’t think I’ve allowed my self to truly walk in it. He is teaching me this.

    Like

    1. becketar says:

      “Lean not on your own understanding.” (Proverbs 3:5b) a key verse to trusting the Lord. Forget for a moment about ‘not knowing,’ for we do not know what a moment from now holds, therefore we already know about not knowing. What we struggle with is trusting.

      Trusting is no easy task. It’s filled with doubts and fears. We doubt ourselves because we have allowed others to change the way we think, how we do things, and what believe in. We doubt because we have failed at one point or another, which has laden us with fear to move forward to trusting. In the beginning of my mission, I tried hard to hang onto things I held so tightly to, in fear of losing them, but God was saying, “Let go.” Imagine Jesus standing on one side of a ravine and you on the other. His arms stretched out over the rushing waters, ready to catch you, He then tells you to jump. Deep down, you trust Him, yet before you leap, a lingering of doubt asks one question: “What if You don’t catch me?” He replies confidently, “What if I do.”

      So, how do we get back to trusting, and move beyond fear and doubt? We turn our focus back to Christ. We make it a priority to saturate ourselves in His presence, everyday. We put the blinders back on, to keep us from being distracted by the world we live in, yet are not of. He is not of this world, and as a daughter of the King Jesus Christ, neither are you (John 17:16). And when we let down our guard, then the next day, we put the blinders back on and try again.

      Early on in my mission, I struggled with what others thought my mission should be, I struggled daily with doubt and fear. I allowed them to get to me, which resulted in wanting to quit, but I didn’t give up. I kept to my reason of my mission. All I knew was that God had called me here. With no manual and no map, I was, sent to connect. I took a leap of faith and let go of most things I held onto. I keep my eyes on Jesus, even through rough and frustrating times, it wasn’t easy. I’m not going to lie, learning to trust is hard. In my moments of debate (to go with His plan or against it) I chose to lean into the Lord, rely on the Holy Spirit, and ask Him to confirm what He’s asking me to do.

      “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the LORD. Isaiah 55:8

      (I tell my story from a we perspective, for I know I am not alone in my struggles.)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lesa Rose says:

        Thank you for your honesty. I will continue forward towards the mission He has called me too.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Lesa Rose says:

    Thanks for this. I believe I need to be aligned with Him even more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

