Awake by Wonder

IMG_2954.jpg

I know it’s early, when I awake. How early is the question. Reaching through the darkness, I find my phone to check the time; 4:50 am. I look to the window, where stars stare at me from high above, twinkling in the charcoal sky. Why am I up? is all I could ask myself. Though, deep inside, I know exactly why. It’s a craving as of recent.

Wonder fills my mind as I roll out of bed, shuffling to the bedroom door, turning the knob like a thief, to discover there is no light on the horizon. I step closer to the window where I can witness more, but my feet squeak on the linoleum floor. Is it too risky? Will I wake others if I keep going? I debate with myself before turning back where cold sheets greet me.

Leave a Reply

