Not Yet

IMG_0324.jpg

In a society of over commitments, here I am again, finding my path to Christ in a new city. I crave to be with Him, sit at His feet, connect with His body, but when should the heart of a “yes” person put on the brakes to say, “not yet?”

Over the years I’ve developed satisfaction in becoming purposeful and needed. When people asked if I wanted to join in on serving opportunities or groups, I wouldn’t hesitate to say yes. Then, over time, burnt out would be knocking on my door when most of my time and energy was consumed on others. It is good to be part of the body of Christ, but when you are left mentally, physically, and spiritually dry, this bad habit has to come to an end. So, it’s with wisdom that I realize that I can’t do it anymore.

There are opportunities here, new friends and a whole new body of Christ to connect with, but, I fear I will overly commit to yes if I don’t nip this in the bud now. So, as I sit in my living room watching my grandmother frantically catch up on reading the newspaper, an overwhelming commitment for her, and the sunshine dance on the lake, it is with scripture that I let go of what I desire, to dwell in Galatians 5:22-23 “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.” In self-control, I will overcome the satisfaction of neediness in me by responding with, “not yet.”

Leave a Reply

