Modern Cinderella and a Timeless Tradition

She’s gone, kidnapped by her niece for a couple hours and the house is finally mine. For a moment, I stand in the middle of the living room feeling the silence of alone, before an energy takes me over and I jump into cleaning the house, without my grandmother micromanaging me.

From the top down I race against time, focusing on the necessities of a clean; driven by checking off the priority list in my head, one room at a time, slowly and methodically.

My last room, the dirtiest, now that the rest of the house has had its spit and shine, has me down on my hands and knees. Dirt and dust cling to my pants, as I give each tile the one-on-one attention it needs. In this moment, as the cloth collects grime, I realize that I am a modern day Cinderella and this timeless tradition still exists when one needs to get down and dirty.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Anne J. says:

    Indeed. πŸ™‚ There are a lot of Cinderellas out there, modern ones included. πŸ™‚ In fact, we currently have a Cinderella Anthology Project that you might want to check out to see if you might want to participate in. It is getting more exciting now. I hope you will. Here is the link:

    https://ithinkisayido.wordpress.com/2017/01/04/invitation-write-your-own-cinderella-story/

    In the meantime, I’ll have a look around your blog. You have piqued my interest. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. becketar says:

      Thanks for the link, I’ll check it out.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Anne J. says:

        Perfect. I really hope you’ll take part. πŸ€—β˜Ί

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

