The Hunted Hunter

hunted

So many thoughts when one is out here alone blazing new trails
letting wonder lead restless feet to find what is unknown to be found.

The wolf, the bear
could they see me from here?
While I stalk in winter’s white
wondering if I’m actually the prey.

I am unafraid, hear nothing, yet feel everything. Something keeps me turning around, something has detected my scent. Something, perhaps nothing.

Just as bitter cold nips at my skin
brown and furry leaps and bounds behind me
heart pounding, pulse alive!

I reach down to greet her as she smiles knowingly that she’s found the hunted hunter.

Leave a Reply

